Diary Of A Born Again Christian

"Be still, and know that I am God."

The elephant in the room.

on May 27, 2012

I think the elephant in the room of Christianity is homosexuality. People(Christian or not), are either quick to bring up the controversy, or they avoid the subject completely. I’m not going to pretend that there are many Christians out there that are judgemental towards homosexuals. There are also Christians that believe(often secretly) that God does not condemn homosexuals. I am one of those people. I believe that we are all sinners. I believe that no sin is more wrong than the other. I believe in God’s grace, and that he forgives all sins.

We are all born with natural sin, all Christians and many non Christians know that this is believed to be true in Christianity. We will all sin, even after we are saved by God’s grace. Whether it’s lying, having premarital sex, cursing or judging, none of us are free of sin. I don’t know why, but homosexuality is one of those sins that truly stand out above the rest in our society. Now when I think of homosexuality, I don’t think, that man has sex with other men, therefore he is a homosexual. I think, that man loves other men, therefore he is a homosexual. Sex is something that takes place in a relationship, but love is at the top of that pyramid. The reason I bring this up, is because God doesn’t make it clear whether or not a romantic relationship with the same-sex is a sin. How I am interpreting God’s word, I am seeing that the only sin involved with homosexuality is thesex aspect. If we lie, we are liars. If we steal, we are thieves. If we have impure thoughts about someone, or have premarital sex, we are adulterers. But do our sins brand us? No, because we have accepted God’s grace and love, and we have repented for our sins. So why is it fair to brand homosexuals? They sin, like all of us. And like all of us, they are not doomed.

Before I became a Christian, it seemed logical to me that certain sins are worse than others. I imagine it like a scale, from nearly insignificant to nearly unforgivable. Shortly after I began my walk with the Lord, I came to understand that this is very far from the truth. Sin is sin is sin. It doesn’t matter if you lie to someone you love, or kill someone you love. It is all sin, and one is not worse than the other.

When we are saved, we accept that Jesus is the savior, and that He died on the cross for our sins. He died so the burden of sin could be lifted off our own shoulders. We are saved by God’s everlasting love and grace because of this. We are all unworthy, and yet we are all worthy anyway. All of us. Period.

I’m not trying to argue who is right and who is wrong about the subject of homosexuality. When it comes down to it, the only one who can say for certain is God. No matter what side of the spectrum you’re on, the only thing that truly matters is we love each other as we love ourselves. If someone you love sins, you love them anyway. Why? Because we are all imperfect, and we all deserve compassion. As Christians, we want to show compassion, and we all want to show love.

 

Leave a Reply

