Diary Of A Born Again Christian

"Be still, and know that I am God."

Soul surfer.

on June 26, 2012

Today I felt like having a lazy day. No cleaning, no work, no phone calls. My son and I had the house all to ourselves, and we spent a lot of the day watching Yo Gabba Gabba and playing in the pool. After I put Kylan down for his nap, I decided to reap the benefits on having all the movie channels free for three months. I was excited to see that Soul Surfer was about to come on, because it was on my mental list of movies I had been wanting to see(that list is a pretty long one, by the way!).

This movie completely amazed me. I already knew the movie was about a teenage girl that loses her arm from a shark attack while surfing, and that she defies the odds against her by continuing to surf. What I did not know about this movie, is it really isn’t even about a girl that overcomes a horrific accident to pursue what she loves. It’s about a girl trying to figure out what God’s plan is for her, and how her pain will benefit those around her. There is a specific scene in this movie that blew my mind, and brought me to tears. After feeling defeated, she decides to go on a mission trip to Thailand to help with the tsunami relief effort. She quickly sees that the people in Thailand are stricken with fear, and afraid to go in the water, even though it’s safe. So she grabs a board, and goes to the water to show a small child how to surf. Her bravery is noticed by the rest of the people on the beach, and they push past their own fear and join her in the water.

We all suffer at certain points in our lives. Sometimes it is hard to realize, but God is trying to show us something. He is trying to show us how our pain and suffering can be used in our lives to inspire others, and to complete God’s plan for us. I have been feeling really down lately. I have been struggling with depression, single motherhood, and many other things. Although I do not yet know what God’s plan is for me, and how my personal pain will tie into that plan. But I have to believe that a purpose is there, and that when the time is right, God will reveal it to me. Until God opens those doors for me, I refuse to regret the pain that I have to deal with in my life. I won’t just accept that pain, I will embrace it. I will have faith, and I will be strong.

I can do everything through He who gives me strength.

Leave a Reply

