Diary Of A Born Again Christian

"Be still, and know that I am God."

Movie theatre shooting

on July 20, 2012

The motherboard on my laptop fried, so bare with me as I post this from my phone because I really wanted to speak about this tragedy that happened late last night at a movie theatre in Aurora, CO.

Every morning when I wake up, I turn on CNN to watch the news. Lately it has been all about the presidential election. But this morning, I was horrified(like millions of Americans) to discover that while innocent people, including small children, were trying to enjoy the new Batman movie, a man with a bullet proof vest and gas mask opened fire. 12 people have been confirmed dead, and many others have non fatal gunshot wounds. Women, children, teenagers….. dead.

I, like many others, cannot wrap my brain around this tragedy. We ask ourselves, “Why did this happen? Why would a person heartlessly kill innocent people enjoying a movie with their family and friends?” Truth is, this kind of a situation is very psychologically complicated, and we may never receive any answers.

I urge everyone to pray for the families of these victims, and trust that our God has these victims safely in heaven. Pray for justice, pray for answers. Pray for the comfort of those affected by this awful tragedy.

Leave a Reply

